Press Secretariat Logo





17 August 2016

New Citizens Sworn-In

The Prime Minister and Cabinet today witnessed the swearing-in of fourteen new citizens.
Officiated by Secretary to Cabinet, Agafili Shem Leo, Samoa’s newest citizens made their vows to serve Samoa in Cabinet’s Chambers at the FMFMII Government Building.

Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi remarked on the importance of this milestone for the fourteen.

“Today’s occasion is a living testament of your commitment to your families and to Samoa, in that you will no longer serve Samoa as temporary or permanent residents, but as citizens.

“Some of you may well be, in the near future through your services to the community, recognized in your spouse’s village as a matai. That is part and parcel of your being a citizen of Samoa.

“Such recognition will speak for many generations to come,” said Tuilaepa.

Samoa’s newest citizens qualified under Section 9 of the Citizenship Act 2004, which grants citizenship by virtue of marriage, with many having already established strong family, community and business ties in Samoa.
Citizens in Samoa are entitled to the ability to purchase land, to vote in General Elections, the right to obtain travel documentation, the ability to represent Samoa in sporting events, the right to claim a pension, the right to apply for educational scholarships and citizen rates for healthcare.

The oath of allegiance to Samoa holds each new citizen to a vow of loyalty, service and obedience to the laws of Samoa.

Samoa’s newest citizens are:

Mrs Sylvie Gabrielle Salanoa, Mr Narendra Krishna Gounder, Mrs Vivienne Isobel Euini, Mr Lican Chen, Mr Mingfeng Chen, Mrs Lorraine Anne Esera, Mr Cordt Wolfgang Steinsiek, Mr Chen Hong, Chiyuan Liu, Mr Youkai Fang, Mrs Varea Dawn Vaurasi-Lelevaga, Mr Alfram Roy Nukuro, Jyothi Alex Abraham, Mr Xiaohua Huang.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email